"For, About and By Bluff Park, Alabama"

Home Neighborhood Updates Bluff Park Information Bluff Park Businesses About and Contact Neighborhood Watch Bluff Park Forum Community Billboard Op/Ed (Coming Soon) Heather's Corner

Spread the word!  Like us on Facebook:  

Follow us on Twitter

Get the Book "Images of America: Hoover" by BluffParkAL.org's own Heather Skaggs   

Get the Book "Images of America: Bluff Park" by BluffParkAL.org's own Heather Skaggs

Check out the Event Calendar for "Images of America: Bluff Park" and "Images of America: Hoover"

Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
Welcome to the Bluff Park, Alabama Forum
05/18/24 at 5:49pm
News: Welcome to BluffParkAL.org, serving as THE Bluff Park Neighborhood Web Site since 2006
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Tips and Tricks for Managing Man's Best Friend (Read 1536 times)
kelechim
YaBB Newbies

I Love Bluff Park!

Tips and Tricks for Managing Man's Best Friend
08/15/07 at 11:28am

I am not a professional trainer but have two fairly well-behaved Great Danes and have great success with some different methods for potty training, eliminating annoying puppy biting behavior, teaching sit, lay, stay...etc.

I've decided to post some of these in case they could come in handy. I'll have to post in installments...as I don't have time to list them all.

Does your dog/new puppy just not get it when it comes to housetraining?

1.Ask yourself if you are leaving your dog alone too long. A dog can hold it for a long time...but, not forever.

2.There is no exact science I have to offer here...but what has worked for my husband and I is the following for our dogs when they were relatively young.  

-Limit your dog's access to water a few hours before bedtime. Put them in a properly sized crate to sleep for the night. Do NOT put water and food in the crate.