"For, About and By Bluff Park, Alabama"

Home Neighborhood Updates Bluff Park Information Bluff Park Businesses About and Contact Neighborhood Watch Bluff Park Forum Community Billboard Op/Ed (Coming Soon) Heather's Corner

Spread the word!  Like us on Facebook:  

Follow us on Twitter

Get the Book "Images of America: Hoover" by BluffParkAL.org's own Heather Skaggs   

Get the Book "Images of America: Bluff Park" by BluffParkAL.org's own Heather Skaggs

Check out the Event Calendar for "Images of America: Bluff Park" and "Images of America: Hoover"

Welcome, Guest. Please Login.
Welcome to the Bluff Park, Alabama Forum
05/18/24 at 3:06pm
News: Welcome to BluffParkAL.org, serving as THE Bluff Park Neighborhood Web Site since 2006
Home Help Search Login

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Outsider's View of Bluff Park Now (Read 2720 times)
formerbpresident
YaBB Newbies

I Love Bluff Park!

Outsider's View of Bluff Park Now
09/09/07 at 11:40am

I was a long-time resident of Bluff Park and always loved living there.  I moved away a few years ago and recently decided that I would once again like to call Bluff Park home.  I searched the MLS for houses for sale, drove to Hoover and looked around the area on my own without a realtor.  I was appalled at how many areas of Bluff Park have been allowed to get so run down looking.  There were houses with overgrown weeds, shutters hanging off the outside, derelict cars parked in driveways and other totally undesirable things.  The house at the corner of Sanders Rd. and Savoy St. that had an indoor pool looked terrible.  The carport was cluttered with junk as well as an old car that was sitting on concrete blocks.  I still love Bluff Park with it's convenient location and wonderful people; but I am no longer sure that it is an area I wish to live in again.  This is how slums start; and I am sure many years ago, North Birmingham, West End, Ensley and some of the other areas that are now very run down were very nice, comfortable, safe and l